Dreams and Doubters

I am always excited for new months and new years.   They feel like a chance to start over, a time for a fresh new take on things. I don’t know why I don’t stop to think of new days and new weeks in the same way.  Really, it could go so far as to look at each new hour in the same way.

In just a week, we’ll welcome a new month AND a new year.  As I mentioned in my previous post, my focus for 2017 is “prepare”.  I have been putting off one big step of preparation- making a budget.  I have been waiting to see about a possible pay increase from my job, but with no word on the outcome yet and only a week left to get the budget squared away, I have come to the realization that I need to go ahead and get the budget set at my current rate of pay.  I can adjust it later if needed.  It’s always a good idea to re-evaluate your budget on a regular basis anyway, to determine what is and isn’t currently working for you.

One of the most important reasons I need to set a budget- and hopefully make myself stick to it- is so I can put together a down payment for a house as well as pay down debt so I can be eligible for a good home loan.  Yesterday, someone that I thought supported my dreams told me “you’re never going to get a house”.  I outwardly smiled my way through the rest of the day, but inside my day was ruined.  I eventually realized that it doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks- my dreams are my own, and I don’t need anyone else to dream them with me.  Even more important, no human’s beliefs have an impact on my future.  Only God has an impact on my future, and I believe that this particular dream was placed on my heart by Him.  So today, I shake off the doubters, lean on God, and do my best to prepare for my future.

 

Leave a Reply

